4 comments on “Catherine Millet and jealousy

  1. N.,   I know the focus of the post is not Catherine Millet's work but I had to add a comment about the first of her books (I haven't read the second; a friend said it was not worth it, and it sounds as though you agree).   I'm not easily shocked, at least by things I read, but that's how I felt.  It wasn't the number of sexual encounters or even the singular focus ("manic" is a good way to describe it) with which she pursued them.  It was the real detachment, the remoteness from any kind of personal involvement in the experience of sex, even with men for whom she says she had feelings. I know – it's possible to have good sex without emotional involvement, but you don't get the impression she enjoyed herself even a little, despite the abundance of fucking.   If I were reading the book aloud, I'd read it in a monotone, because that's the way it came across to me: flat, unaccented by emotions of any kind.  Bestb.e.g.P.S. – Oddly, the Story of O came across like that, too (as well as bo-ring), so maybe it's the fact that they are translated works that accounts for the seeming flat affect?

  2. Re: your P.S. – I don't think so. Maybe that they're FRENCH, but not that they're translated…. But yes, the monotone would capture well her Aspbergerian relationship to her body, to her partners. That was the thing that got me, in the end: it's as if she's a hole, and men are just there to fill that hole. And damn if it never gets filled.I'm capable of objectifying with the best of them, but I've never fucked a woman whose name I didn't WANT to know, and only one whose name I didn't know. (All right – whose "name" I didn't know.) But the human connection, the part where you actually get to know a bit about someone – that's what animates me. It's precisely why the sex parties where people spend time with their clothes on are more exciting to me than the ones where there's no speaking, just fucking.And when are you next posting on your blog?

  3. The thought did occur to me that their both being French was responsible for the lack of emotional involvement, and it probably does have at least something to do with it.As for your question, the answer is that I don't know.  I lack inspiration, motivation and self-discipline at the moment, so your guess is as good as mine. 

  4. Funny – I thought it wasn't so much that they were French that explained the monotone as that they write in French, and that that's how French reads to English-speakers.  Interesting, subtle, difference.And get inspired, motivated!  You write good.  I want to read more….

Leave a Reply

