3 comments on “Fucking Google

  1. I think Violet Blue had some experience with this some months ago. You might check her archives. Most of the cool sex bloggers (except you and I) have switched over to WordPress. Not all, but most. It will fuck with your stats, you can't use Google analytics, and IMO, the templates are hideous.

  2. I host myself, in part because of problems like this — although in general I'm more concerned about free online services suddenly going away because the business collapses than I am about censorship (though both are quite real).  I pay $20 a month for server space on Media Temple.  They have a "one click install" of WordPress.  I chose a theme, and started blogging.  As long as you're not doing something illegal, Media Temple and other web hosts generally don't even look at your content (and won't unless they get a complaint from a law enforcement agency or copyright holder; they don't have the time).  The upside? I'm probably safer in terms of privacy, threats of censorship, and stability.   I also get to have my own unique URL, which I like.  No ads, lots of themes.  Downside?  Setting up WordPress on your own is more complicated than getting a blog through a hosted service like Blogspot or WordPress.com.  It's not free (although services like Bluehost and Dreamhost have pretty much the same service for less; I think Bluehost was $8/month for awhile). 

Leave a Reply

